

OHIO LICENSURE AS A PHARMACIST BY EXAMINATION

UPDATED 5/18/2018

EVERY APPLICANT FOR PHARMACIST LICENSURE IN OHIO, BY EXAMINATION, SHALL:

- (1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
- (2) Be of good moral character and habits.
- (3) Have obtained a degree in Pharmacy from a school of pharmacy program approved by the Board in the year that the applicant graduated.
 - NOTE: Graduates of foreign schools of pharmacy seeking the requirements for licensure as a pharmacist in Ohio should go to the Board's Web site [www.pharmacy.ohio.gov], click on "Registration & Licensing" and then click on "Ohio Licensure of Foreign Graduates."
- **(4)** Have satisfactorily completed at least the minimum requirements for pharmacy internship as outlined by the Board.
- (5) Successfully pass the Licensure Examinations required by the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy.

Pharmacy Internship Requirements (4729-3-05 OAC)

If the applicant successfully graduated after December 31, 2006, with a doctor of pharmacy degree from a school of pharmacy approved by A.C.P.E. and the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy, the internship credit requirement shall be deemed satisfactorily completed.

If the applicant graduated on or before December 31, 2006 from an approved school of pharmacy or from a foreign school of pharmacy, the applicant must obtain at least 1,500 hours of approved internship following licensure as an intern in Ohio or any other state where the credentials are at least the equivalent of those required by the Ohio Board at the time the experience was obtained.

For applicants who graduated on or before December 31, 2006 from an approved school of pharmacy or from a foreign school of pharmacy and the internship is obtained in another state, the applicant must comply with the laws and rules of that state regarding pharmacy internship. The applicant must have the state Board of Pharmacy of the state



where the 1500 hours of internship was completed to submit official verification of the internship directly to the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy.

If the internship is obtained in Ohio, the applicant must be licensed as an Ohio intern and he/she must meet all other requirements of pharmacy internship as outlined in Chapter 4729-3 of the Ohio Administrative Code.

Criminal Background Checks (4729.071 ORC)

Pursuant to 4729.071 and 4776.02 of the Ohio Revised Code, the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy may not issue an initial license to practice pharmacy until the applicant has submitted a request to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI & I) for a criminal records check of the applicant. The records check must also include a request for information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The results of criminal records checks are not public records and shall not be made available to any person other than the licensing agency and the applicant or their representative (4776.04 ORC). Please see the Criminal Records Check summary on the Board's website for additional information, including a listing of agencies that will take electronic fingerprint impressions for this check.

The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy Licensure Examinations (4729-5-31 OAC)

The licensure exams are computerized and consist of the "NAPLEX" (North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination) and the "MPJE" (Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination). For information regarding NAPLEX and MPJE, go to the NABP website (www.nabp.net) and click on either "Applications" or "Examination Programs." You will find links to FAQ documents and the "Registration Bulletin" on the right side of the page. The Drug Laws of Ohio may be purchased directly from the publisher, West, at 1-800-328-9352.

The minimum passing score for the NAPLEX is seventy-five (75). The minimum passing score for the MPJE is seventy-five (75). Any candidate failing to obtain a score of seventy-five (75) on either examination will be required to repeat the examination.

The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy participates in NABP's Score Transfer program for NAPLEX scores. MPJE scores are NOT transferable (see the "NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin" on the NABP web site).

Applying For the Licensure Examinations

(A) Candidates must complete and submit (with required attachments) the "Application For Examination As A Pharmacist" for Ohio. The application form is available on the Board's web site or may be obtained at each of the Ohio colleges of pharmacy offices. Social Security Number is required per 3123.50 of the Ohio Revised Code.

- **(B)** Candidates must apply online with NABP at www.nabp.net and pay the required fees to register for NAPLEX and MPJE. For additional important examinformation, go to the NABP website (www.nabp.net) and click on either "Applications" or "Examination Programs." You will find links to FAQ documents and the "Registration Bulletin" on the right side of the page.
- **(C)** Once the Board office determines that a candidate is qualified to sit for the Licensure Examination in Ohio and certifies that candidate to NABP, the candidate will be sent an "Authorization to Test" (ATT) from the testing center.
- (D) The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy will mail the results to the candidate <u>only</u> <u>after</u> receiving <u>BOTH</u> the NAPLEX and MPJE scores from NABP and the Criminal Records Check from BCI & I.

NOTE: <u>Examination scores will NOT be mailed separately or be given over the telephone</u>.

- **(E)** If an applicant fails the licensure examination, he/she will receive notice to that effect. Those taking one or both of the examinations again MUST file the application forms and pay the required fees AGAIN. Affidavits for internship experience and the Certificate of Pharmacy Education need not be submitted for subsequent exam(s).
- **(F)** Candidates who fail must wait a minimum of forty-five days to retake the NAPLEX and a minimum of thirty days to retake the MPJE per NABP policy. This waiting period begins from the date the exam is taken, not the date scores are mailed by the Board or received by the candidate.

ALL APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSURE TO PRACTICE PHARMACY IN OHIO MUST BE MADE UNDER OATH BEFORE A QUALIFIED OFFICER. It is a Misdemeanor of the First Degree for any person to make a false statement under oath for the purpose of securing licensure for him/herself or for another person. Certificates of Licensure obtained by fraud or upon false representation may be revoked by the Board.

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE AS A PHARMACIST IN OHIO UNLESS YOU HOLD A CURRENT OHIO LICENSE TO PRACTICE. It is a Misdemeanor of the Third Degree to practice pharmacy in Ohio without a current Ohio license (identification card). A monetary penalty of \$500.00 may be imposed by the Board for each day of practice without a license, and a person may also be imprisoned for not more than 60 days for each day's violation.

APPLICATION PROCEDURE SUMMARY PHARMACIST LICENSING EXAMINATION

* * * YOUR APPLICATION MATERIALS GO TO TWO SEPARATE LOCATIONS * * *

YOU MUST SUBMIT THE STATE OF OHIO BOARD OF PHARMACY APPLICATION AND FEE REGARDLESS OF THE EXAMINATION(S) FOR WHICH YOU ARE REGISTERING.

FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY!

-- NABP'S NABPLEX AND MPJE APPLICATION PROCEDURE --

To apply for NABPLEX and/or MPJE, visit the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) website at: https://nabp.pharmacy/. There you can schedule the NABPLEX and/or MBJE exams.

-- STATE OF OHIO BOARD OF PHARMACY APPLICATION FORM --

COMPLETE the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy "Application for Examination as a Pharmacist" through eLicense. To apply, visit www.elicense.ohio.gov.

The Board has created a guide on registering an account through eLicense, which can be accessed here: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/elicenseinstruct. Check for accuracy prior to submission; errors may cause application to be returned to you or cause delays in licensing.

REMEMBER to submit a request to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI&I) for a criminal records check. This can be completed before or after the application and examination process but must be completed before an initial license to practice pharmacy is issued. Please refer to the "Criminal Records Check" summary on the Board's website for directions, including a listing of agencies that will take electronic fingerprint impressions for this check. The results must be sent to the Ohio Board of Pharmacy directly from BCI & I.