

For Immediate Release (614) 466.7322 Media.Relations@pharmacy.ohio.gov

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy Honors Ohio at 115th Annual Meeting State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy Receives 2019 Fred T. Mahaffey Award

May 23, 2019 – Columbus, Ohio – The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy received the 2019 Fred T. Mahaffey Award from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) for its efforts to promote the use of Ohio's prescription monitoring program, known as the Ohio Automated Rx Reporting System (OARRS), and the development and implementation of new rules requiring the reporting of suspicious drug orders by wholesalers.

During the awards ceremony held in Minneapolis, NABP highlighted several of the Board's efforts in 2018, including "actively promoting prescription monitoring program (PMP) integration and interstate data sharing, as well as the enforcement of state laws and rules requiring the use Ohio's PMP." The association also commended the Board's efforts to implement rules to require the reporting of suspicious drug orders and customers by wholesale distributors, noting that Ohio's rules "became a model for other states."

"We are very proud of the work we have done to safeguard the citizens of Ohio," said State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy Executive Director Steven W. Schierholt. "Our partnership with NABP is invaluable to our shared mission of protecting the public health."

The Fred T. Mahaffey Award recognizes a board of pharmacy that has made substantial contributions to the regulation of the practice of pharmacy over the past year. Boards considered for this award must have contributed to protecting the public health and welfare through the enforcement of state and federal laws and regulations, and to the advancement of NABP goals and objectives.

###

