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WHEN TO CHECK OARRS - PHARMACISTS

Per OAC 4729:5-5-08, prior to dispensing an outpatient prescription for a
controlled substance or a drug containing gabapentin, at a minimum, a
pharmacist shall request and review an OARRS report covering at least a
one year time period in any of the following circumstances:

RULE 1: A patient adds a new or different controlled
substance or a drug containing gabapentin to the patient’s
therapy that was not previously included.

RULE 2: An OARRS report has not been reviewed for that
patient during the preceding 12 months, as indicated in the
patient profile.

RULE 3: A prescriber is located outside the usual pharmacy
geographic area.

RULE 4: A patient is from outside the usual pharmacy
geographic area.

RULE 5: A pharmacist has reason to believe the patient has
received prescriptions for controlled substances or a drug
containing gabapentin from more than one prescriber in
the preceding three months, unless the prescriptions are
from prescribers who practice at the same physical location
(i.e. same group practice).
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RULE 6: Patient is exhibiting signs of potential abuse

or diversion. This includes, but is not limited to, over-
utilization, early refills, appears overly sedated or
intoxicated upon presenting a prescription for a reported
drug, or an unfamiliar patient requesting a reported drug by
specific name, street name, color, or identifying marks.
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Remember: To be valid, a prescription must be issued for a legitimate
medical purpose by a prescriber acting in the usual course of their
practice. The responsibility for the proper prescribing is upon the
prescriber; however, a corresponding responsibility also rests with

the pharmacist who dispenses the prescription. Pharmacists shall

use professional judgment when making a determination about the
legitimacy of a prescription.

A pharmacist shall not dispense a prescription of doubtful,
questionable, or suspicious origin [OAC 4729:5-5-08 (G), 4729:5-5-10 (A),
& 4729:5-5-15 (A)].

It’s OK to say no. You might just save a life.
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WHEN TO CHECK OARRS - PRESCRIBERS

Ohio law and rules require a prescriber to check OARRS
in the following circumstances:

1. Before prescribing or personally furnishing an opioid
analgesic or benzodiazepine to a patient.!

2. When the course of treatment with a reported drug
other than an opioid analgesic or benzodiazepine has
lasted more than ninety (90) days.*

3. When red flags are present.?

WHEN TO FOLLOW-UP IN OARRS

Ohio law and rules require a prescriber to conduct
a follow-up check in OARRS in the following
circumstances:

e When treatment with an opioid analgesic or
benzodiazepine lasts more than ninety (90) days,
OARRS should be reviewed at least every ninety (90)
days during course of treatment.

e At least annually following the initial OARRS report
when treatment with a reported drug other than an
opioid analgesic or benzodiazepine lasts more than
ninety (90) days.

OHIO REGULATIONS

The full rules adopted by Ohio’s health care regulatory
boards can be found:

Medical Board Rules: 4731-11-11%2,4731-33-02,
4731-33-03, 4730-2-10%2, 4730-4-02

Nursing Board Rules: 4723-9-12%2, 4723-9-13, 4723-9-14
Dental Board Rule: 4715-6-01%2

Ohio Vision Professionals Board Rule: 4725-16-042
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