
 

 

Pharmacist Continuing Education (CE) Reporting Requirements 
 

Updated 12/11/2024 
  
ORC 4729.12 requires pharmacists to obtain a minimum of 3.0 continuing education units 
(CEUs) (30 hours) every two years in conjunction with their license renewal. Please refer to the 
chart on the next page for hours required for the 2025 reporting period and the timeframe in 
which they must be earned.   
  
The following provides an overview of the Boardʼs continuing education requirements:  
  
 Any format (live, home study) is acceptable  

 
 Minimum 30 hours (3 CEUs) total, which must include:  

o Minimum 2 hours medication errors/patient safety (ACPE -05)*  
o Minimum 2 hours jurisprudence or law (ACPE -03) or Ohio Board of Pharmacy 

Approved Jurisprudence*  
 
NOTE:  Only ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers (law and provision 
of volunteer healthcare services) are accepted.  Some examples of courses that are not 
accepted include continuing medical education (CME) and continuing legal education 
(CLE).   
 

 Programs which show up on NABPʼs CPE monitor transcript with the “ IPCE”  
credit type designation will be accepted for purposes of fulfilling a pharmacistʼs 
continuing education requirement.    

 
For Newly Licensed Ohio Pharmacists Only  
  
Ohio pharmacists who are renewing for the first time, are not required to earn or report 
continuing pharmacy education hours. These pharmacists will still be required to file a 
renewal application but will have an option to indicate it is their first renewal. Please refer to 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4729.12


the chart in this guidance document for more information. Any credits earned between the 
initial date of licensure and their first expiration date may not be carried over to the next 
cycle.  
  
In-State Providers of Continuing Education  
  
Pursuant to OAC 4729-6, in-state providers of continuing education will only be allowed to 
grant CE credit for pharmacy jurisprudence courses or the provision of volunteer healthcare 
services. All jurisprudence programs from in-state providers must be approved by the Board 
of Pharmacy prior to the presentation of the program.  
  
Continuing Education Requirements by Reporting Cycle   
  

License Number  2025 Reporting Cycle*  

 03-1-XXXXX  
 03-2-XXXXX  
 03-3-XXXXX  
 03-4-XXXXX   
 Issued on/before April 30, 2023  
  

 Total Hours – 30  
 Law/Jurisprudence – 2  
 Patient Safety/Medication Errors – 2  
 Earned between Sept. 16, 2023 and Sept. 15, 2025 

 03-4-XXXXX  
 Issued between May 1, 2023  
 and Sept. 15, 2025  

 Not required to report  

  
*Pharmacists who meet the continuing education requirements via a Board approved 
pharmacy practice-specific specialty certification are still required to obtain the 
required CEUs in pharmacy law and patient or medication safety listed above.  
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Proof of Completion  
 
All ACPE credits earned shall be reported to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 
(NABP) CPE Monitor. Pharmacists shall keep all certificates and other documented evidence 
of participation that have been issued by a non-ACPE accredited provider for approved credits 
for a minimum of one year following the year in which the CE was required for renewal. 
Pharmacists are only required to supply documentation as proof of completion when 
requested by the Board.  
 
A pharmacist may satisfy some of the CE requirements by the following:   

 Holds a current certification by a Board approved pharmacy practice-specific 
specialty certification program. The program shall require periodic 
recertification examinations and provide documentation that the pharmacist is 
currently certified in the program. The pharmacist must still earn and attest at 
the time of license renewal of having completed at least 0.2 CEUs (2 hours) of 
pharmacy jurisprudence/law and 0.2 CEUs (2 hours) of medication 
errors/patient safety per CE reporting cycle.   

 Provide healthcare services as volunteer in accordance with section 4745.04 of 
the Ohio Revised Code. The location where health care services are provided 
shall be an approved instate provider of volunteer healthcare services by the 
Ohio Board of Pharmacy. Volunteer hours may only account for one-third of 
the CE requirement (10 hours). The pharmacist must still earn and attest at 
the time of license renewal of having completed at least 0.2 CEUs (2 hours) of 
pharmacy jurisprudence/law and 0.2 CEUs (2 hours) of medication 
errors/patient safety per CE reporting cycle.  

   
 
Jurisprudence (Law) Requirements  
  
Pharmacists have two options to meet the current requirement that they obtain CEUs of 
pharmacy jurisprudence:  
  

1. A.C.P.E. law programs as identified by A.C.P.E numbering convention “03”; or  
2. If provided by an in-state provider of continuing education, Board approved 

continuing pharmacy education programs that address current laws, rules, and 
regulations pertaining to the practice of pharmacy and recent changes that have 
occurred to those laws, rules and regulations.  A list of Board approved courses can be 
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accessed from the Boardʼs continuing education web site: 
https://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Licensing/JurisprudencePrograms.  

 
It is the responsibility of the pharmacist to verify that they have obtained pharmacy 
jurisprudence that meets the requirements of OAC 4729:1-5-02 prior to attesting that their CE 
requirements have been met.  
 
REMINDER: Every year, the Ohio Board of Pharmacy offers free, online Jurisprudence CE for 
pharmacists and technicians.  This no-cost quiz can be accessed by visiting the Boardʼs 
continuing education web site: http://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Licensing/CE.aspx. The test is 
taken online and is graded immediately upon submission. You are encouraged to pre-print 
the exam, and you will have only two opportunities to take and submit the test for grading. A 
score of seventy-five percent is needed to pass. After successful completion, you will have the 
ability to immediately print your certificate, and a copy of your certificate will also be emailed 
to you. Be sure to keep this certificate to use if you are audited. We are not able to upload 
successful completion of the exam to CPE monitor. NOTE: Do not mail any quizzes to the 
Board office. We will not hand-process or mail a certificate to you.  
 
 
Board Approved Pharmacy Practice-Specific Specialty Certification Programs  
 

Resolution Adopted July 11, 2022 
  
Pursuant to OAC 4729:1-5-02 (B)(1), the Ohio Board of Pharmacy hereby approves all current 
and future specialty certification programs from the following organizations for the purposes 
of pharmacist continuing education:  
 
 The Board of Pharmacy Specialties (https://www.bpsweb.org/)  
 The Specialty Pharmacy Certification Board (https://naspnet.org/)  

 
Effective July 9, 2002, the Board recognizes the Certified Specialist in Poison Information 
(CSPI) certification as an approved specialty certification program.  
 
 
Ohio Licensed Pharmacists Practicing Outside the State of Ohio   
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Rule 4729:1-5-02 states: Ohio-licensed pharmacists who hold a current license in states where 
continuing education is mandatory, have met the continuing pharmacy education 
requirements of that state, and who have not practiced pharmacy in Ohio at any time during 
the two years prior to the renewal date in which a pharmacist's license must be renewed, may 
renew their license in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 4729. of the Revised Code 
without having to comply with the requirements of this rule.  
 
IMPORTANT: Pharmacists who are practicing pharmacy outside the state of Ohio but are 
solely licensed as an Ohio Pharmacist, must still meet the Boardʼs requirements. 
 
 
Ohio Licensed Pharmacists who are Retired or Not Actively Practicing Pharmacy  
 
Ohio Licensed Pharmacists who wish to maintain an active Ohio Pharmacist license, even if 
they are retired or not actively practicing pharmacy and do not meet any of the other 
exemptions listed in this guidance document, are required to earn the full continuing 
education requirements listed in the table on Page 2 of this document.  
 
The Board does not have a retired or non-renewing status. Pharmacists who meet certain 
criteria may be eligible for Emeritus status. Please review the criteria here – 
www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Emeritus.  Pharmacists who are in Inactive – Emeritus status are not 
required to meet the continuing education requirements as they do not hold an active license 
to practice pharmacy.  
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Military Extensions and Waivers  
 
ACTIVE MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS AND THEIR SPOUSES: The Board may grant extension 
periods and waivers for CEU requirements for the time in which the active duty took place. To 
ask for consideration, please write a letter of explanation to the Board (Attention: Licensing 
Department) or send an email to licensing@pharmacy.ohio.gov and include official 
documentation of the active-duty timeframes.  
 
ACTIVE MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS: The Board may approve relevant military education, 
training or service towards CEU requirements. To ask for consideration, please write a letter of 
explanation to the Board (Attention: Licensing Department) or send an email to 
licensing@pharmacy.ohio.gov and include official documentation of the experience along with 
total hours for consideration.  
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