

Pharmacist Renewal Begins July 17th

Renewal Process

License renewal will begin on **Thursday**, **July 17**, **2025**. An email notification will be sent out to pharmacists on July 17th indicating their pharmacist license can be renewed. Renewal applications cannot be submitted before that date. Any license renewed after the expiration date of **September 15**, **2025** will be assessed a late fee.

Renewal Fees

Pharmacist licenses have transitioned to a biennial (two-year) cycle. All licenses that are successfully renewed will receive a two-year license with an expiration date of **September 15**, **2027**.

The biennial renewal fee for a pharmacist license is **\$250.00** and the eLicense System Transaction Fee of \$3.50*. All renewal fees must be paid via Visa, Discover or MasterCard.

*The eLicense System Transaction Fee will be assessed on each license that is renewed in the eLicense Ohio system operated by the Ohio Department of Administrative Services. Licensing boards and commissions do not receive revenue from this fee. The transaction fee is nonrefundable

Reporting Employment to the Board

Is your employment information on file with the board up-to-date? Ohio rules require all pharmacists to report their employment and any changes to employment to the Board within thirty (30) days – OAC 4729:1-2-06 (E).

To review your employment information, navigate to your Ohio eLicense Dashboard and select "Manage Affiliations" from the Options menu on your license tile. If the information is not current, please update it by utilizing the "Add New Affiliation" link to add your current employment. If you are unemployed or not currently working in Ohio or a pharmacy setting, you are still required to report your employment information. Step-by-Step guidance can be found here: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/employmentchange.

IMPORTANT: If your employment information is updated but still listed as Pending, you may proceed with the renewal application.

2025 Continuing Education and Reporting Requirements

ORC 4729.12 requires pharmacists to obtain a minimum of 3.0 continuing education units (CEUs) (30 hours) every two years in conjunction with their license renewal. Please refer to the chart on the CE guidance to determine if and how many hours you are required to report.

The following provides an overview of the Board's continuing education requirements:

- Any format (live, home study) is acceptable.
- Minimum 30 hours (3.0 CEUs) total, which must include:
 - Minimum 2 hours medication errors/patient safety (ACPE -05)
 - Minimum 2 hours jurisprudence or law (ACPE -03) or Ohio Board of Pharmacy Approved Jurisprudence

NOTE: Only ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers (law and provision of volunteer healthcare services) are accepted. Some examples of courses that are not accepted include continuing medical education (CME) and continuing legal education (CLE).

IMPORTANT: Ohio-licensed pharmacists who hold a current license in states where continuing education is mandatory, have met the continuing pharmacy education requirements of that state, and who have not practiced pharmacy in Ohio <u>at any time</u> during the two years prior to the renewal date in which a pharmacist's license must be renewed, may renew their license without having to comply with the continuing education requirements.

Continuing education may be obtained from any of the following providers:

- An ACPE (Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education) continuing education provider;
- An approved in-state provider of pharmacy jurisprudence programs; or
- An approved in-state provider of volunteer healthcare services.
- NOTE: Only ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers (law and provision of volunteer healthcare services) are accepted. Some examples of courses that are not accepted include continuing medical education (CME) and continuing legal education (CLE).

Please review the continuing education guidance document, www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/CE for more information.

If you have any questions about these changes, please contact the Board via email at **licensing@pharmacy.ohio.gov**.

Renewal Frequently Asked Questions

Will I receive a pocket-card which contains my license number and new expiration date?

No. Changes to Ohio law eliminated the need for the issuance of a pharmacist identification card (i.e., pocket card). All pharmacists who successfully renew will receive an email indicated the license renewal was processed successfully. Pharmacists may verify their renewed license at https://elicense.ohio.gov/oh_verifylicense. A printable version is available if a pharmacist wishes to have a paper copy.

Do I need to complete my continuing education (CE) prior to renewing?

Yes, pharmacists will be required to attest to complete the required continuing education for the 2025 renewal cycle on the renewal application. A pharmacist must complete all CE requirements prior to renewing to truthfully attest on the renewal application.

I am not actively practicing but plan to renew my license, do I still have to complete continuing education (CE)?

Yes, pharmacists who wish to maintain an active license must comply with all requirements of renewal and **continuing education**.

How do I retire my license?

Pharmacists who do not intend to renew their license may be eligible to apply for Emeritus Status. Please review additional information here.

If a pharmacist does not meet the requirements for emeritus status, but does not wish to renew, they may allow the license to lapse by not renewing. Notification does not need sent to the Board. Pharmacists allowing their license to lapse will still receive communication about renewal requirements but can disregard those notices.

Free Online Law Quiz

The Board also offers a free online law CE quiz that provides one hour (0.1 CEU) of Boardapproved jurisprudence continuing education. More information on the quiz can be found on the Board's continuing education webpage.

2025 Virtual Law Reviews and Responsible Person Roundtables

Join the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy for a presentation to learn about the latest developments in pharmacy law and rules.

Law Review topics will include:

- Duty to Report and Continuous Quality Improvement
- · Minimum standards for outpatient pharmacies
- Updates to state and federal laws and rules
- Hot topics and drug diversion trends

Responsible Person Roundtable topics will include:

- How should an RP handle duty to report and establish a continuous quality improvement program?
- · Updates to state and federal laws and rules
- Hot topics and drug diversion trends

Responsible Person 101 topics will include:

- Duties and responsibilities of a responsible person
- · General requirements of a terminal distributor of dangerous drugs
- An overview of resources available to a responsible person

More information and registration instructions can be found on the Board's **continuing education webpage**.

eLicense Ohio

All renewal applications must be filed via the state's online licensing system – eLicense Ohio. All licensees are required to have an account to renew and manage their Ohio pharmacist license.

Individuals who already have an account but forgot their password may reset the password by selecting "Forgot your password?". A password reset link will be emailed to you. The link expires after 24 hours, so reset your password as soon as possible!

Individuals who already have an account but have not logged on in the last 12 months may be required to reset their password. Follow the on-screen instructions to reset your password.

It is highly recommended to use Google Chrome to access eLicense Ohio and when submitting the renewal application.

For step-by-step guidance on how to register for an account on the eLicense site, visit: www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/elicenseinstruct.

For assistance registering for an account or resetting a password in eLicense Ohio, please contact the eLicense Customer Service Center, which can be reached by calling 855-405-5514.

The eLicense Customer Service Centers serves all Ohio Boards and Commissions licensees and applicants. Callers may experience hold times or delays during overlapping renewal cycles across the state's Boards and Commissions.





People call, text, and chat the 988 Lifeline to talk about a lot of emotional needs—not just thoughts of suicide. Whatever your reason, the #988Lifeline is there to help. There is hope.

Ohio Board of Pharmacy Mike DeWine, Governor | Steven W. Schierholt, Executive Director

Ohio Board of Pharmacy | 77 S. High St 17th Floor | Columbus, OH 43215 US

Unsubscribe | Constant Contact Data Notice